Wednesday, October 8, 2008

And the nominees are…

It's time to highlight our WAC student athletes who have been nominated for awards this fall…..
Louisiana Tech senior linebacker Quin Harris has been selected as one of 30 finalists for the inaugural Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. The award’s criteria is as follows: to be eligible for the award, a student athlete must be in senior standing at a NCAA Division I institute and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: Classroom, Character, Community and Competition.

Harris has surpassed the criteria listed above and is a class act on and off the field.

On the field, Harris has recorded over 200 career tackles, earning Second Team All-WAC honors in 2007, Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana Team in 2006 and 2007 and All-WAC Team in 2007.

Harris exemplifies what it is to be a student-athlete. He maintained a 3.8 G.P.A, graduating in the spring of 2008 and is now pursuing a master’s degree in exercise physiology and sports performance.

In addition to Harris’ commitment to education and athletics, he has also contributed the Ruston community by completing over 50 hours of community service for a variety of charitable organizations including Habitat for Humanity, St. Jude Radio-athon and Northeast Louisiana Food Drive to name a few.

The 30 nominees will be narrowed down to a list of 10 finalists halfway through the regular season. The 10 finalists will be placed on the official ballot which will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans who will then select the candidate who they feel is worthy of the award. The winner of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for football will be announced during a 2008-2009 post season college football event.

Patrice Godwin, senior defender for the Wolf Pack women’s soccer team has also been nominated for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Similar to the football requirements, student athletes must possess achievements both on and off the playing field.

Godwin, a four year starter for the Wolf Pack has played an integral role in Nevada’s defense, helping her team to record 23 shutouts and three WAC Tournament appearances, including the programs first tournament title in 2006. She has started and played in 62 career games and in July of 2008 was selected to attend the U23 Select/Amateur nation Team Training Camp.

Off the field, Godwin has contributed to the Reno community by volunteering with Habitat for Humanity, Renown, Nevada’s Soccer Clinic and Great Basin Youth Soccer League Clinic.

Similar voting guidelines apply. The list of 30 candidates will be narrowed down to ten finalists whose names we be placed on a nation wide ballot beginning on Oct. 9th and concludes Nov. 19th. A combination of fan votes, coaches and media selections will determine the recipient of the award. The winner will be announced during the 2008 Women’s Soccer Championship in Cary, North Carolina (Dec. 5-7th).

Three WAC punters, Utah State sophomore, Peter Caldwell, Idaho senior, T.J Conley, and LA Tech senior, Chris Keagle have been named to the Ray Guy watch list, which identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter.

The list will be narrowed down to ten semi-finalists in early November. The national voting body will then determine the top three finalists and ultimately the winner of the award. The award will be presented live on ESPN during the ESPNU-Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 11, 2008.

2008 Football Awards Watch Lists:

Maxwell (National Player of the Year):
Chase Holbrook, QB, NMSU; Ian Johnson, RB, BSU

Walter Camp (National Player of the Year):
Tom Brandstatr, QB, FS; Ian Johnson, RB,

Bronko Nagurski (Best Defensive Player):
Antonio Baker, DB, LTU; Solomon Elimimian,
LB, UH; D’Anthony Smith, DT, LTU; Kyle
Wilson, CB, BSU

Chuck Bednarik (Best Defensive Player):
Solomon Elimimian, LB, UH

Lombardi (Best Lineman/Linebacker):
Solomon Elimimian, LB, UH; John Estes,
OL, UH; Dominic Green, OL, NEV; Adam
Leonard, LB, UH; David Veikune, DL,UH

Davey O’Brien (Best Quarterback): Tom
Brandstater, FS; Chase Holbrook, NMSU

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm (Best Senior
Quarterback): Tom Brandstater, FS; Chase
Holbrook, NMSU

Doak Walker (Best Running Back): Deonte’
Jackson, UI; Ian Johnson, BSU; Luke
Lippincott, NEV

Butkus (Best Linebacker): Jake Hutton, USU;
Paul Igboeli, USU; Adam Leonard, UH;
Joshua Mauga, NEV

Mackey (Best Tight End): Bear Pascoe, FS

Rimington (Best Center): John Estes, UH;
Dominic Green, NEV; Adam Korby, UI; Ryan
Tonnemacher, USU

Outland (Best Lineman): John Estes, C, UH

Groza (Best Placekicker): Kyle Brotzman,
BSU; Dan Kelly, UH; Jared Strubeck, SJSU

Congratulations to all of our nominees!

No comments: